Are users getting virus messages here? - HawkeyeNation Forum
Reply Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2010, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Publisher/Founder
 
JonDMiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,135
Blog Entries: 11
Are users getting virus messages here?

We have run some checks and things have shown up fine. But folks at Cyclonefanatic are complaining of virus warnings. I have never gotten a virus warning or security warning of any kind and I am on the site quite a bit. If you ever get a warning like that could you post the warning, the site that you came here from and the browser and version you are using. Thanks
JonDMiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
HN Legend
 
Pooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,162
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

I have not here. A couple of times (on different 'puters) been over at Cyclonenation and both Kapersky and Norton anti-virus went nuts. So I stay off of that site.

I suppose it could be a clever ploy by Cyclowns to prevent Hawks from visiting ... but on second thought that is way above their cumulative IQ.
__________________
When facism comes to America it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross

http://s.wsj.net/public/resources/im...1027145155.jpg
Pooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Graduate
 
eyekwah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,388
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

I am running windows xp with AVG virus detection and firefox browser. I'm not getting any virus alerts from AVG. I have the popup blocker turned on, but I am allowing javascript within firefox's settings.
__________________
Adopt the Fair Tax Plan

"The society that puts equality before freedom will end up with neither. The society that puts freedom before equality will end up with a great measure of both." Milton Friedman
eyekwah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
HN Legend
 
MNHawkeyeFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: OH MY! What kind of hold is that Pin?
Posts: 6,904
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

A few days ago my virus checker popped up a message that said a virus was found for this site and blocked it but later I didn't have any troubles.
MNHawkeyeFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Sophomore
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Posts: 71
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

I got a virus message here this morning, but not this afternoon.

I also got malware from one of the hawk sites on Thursday, but I'm not sure which one.
Norse23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Sophomore
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 162
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

I never get any here, but on CF my computor at work won't allow me in and at home I get some warning periodically. At one time, and I think it was in the spring, both of my computors had viruses that were pretty much attributed to CF. Got them fixed and haven't had a problem since.
edgyhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 112
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

Actually, over the past couple weeks my anti-virus program (Symantec Endpoint Protection) was picking up something call Bloodhound.exploit.337 and it was deemed as an infected file. It was automatically removed and quarantined from my computer on 7/31, 8/12 & 8/13. It would only happen on this site and my computer would then be extremely slow as a result.
Hawkiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
HN Legend
 
Hawke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Out Of The Blue and Into The Black
Posts: 2,638
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

I was getting warnings here a couple days ago. I ran a full scan with Norton, Malwarebytes, and Ad Aware and turned up nothing. I haven't gotten the warnings since. I went to check out a thread at CF that was linked here and Norton went ballistic.
Hawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
HN Legend
 
DuffMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Banned
Posts: 10,675
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

ive gotten a couple of viruses here, i had to switch from AVG free to microsofts free version, so far so good. I do get more warnings from clownfanatic than i do from here.
__________________
The de facto voice of JD Miller*

Ron Swanson Quote Of The Week: On reducing the cost of government
"I have so many ideas. Some are simple like take down traffic lights and eliminate the post office. The bigger ones will be tougher, like 'bring all this crumbling to the ground."

* Ideas/opinions expressed in this post exactly reflect those of this website, it's founder, and it's sponsors.
DuffMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 07:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Graduate
 
Chickenlounge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 874
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

Running Firefox with NoScript and Symantec EndPoint Protection. Never seen a virus message pop-up, but NoScript would stop it before Symantec would see it anyway.

I've never seen any on CF either.

Jon, might I suggest turning off all ads for a few days and see if the problems go away? Or contact your ad suppliers and make sure they're not hosting any malicious ads by accident? I don't want you to lose money by not having ads, but it's just something to try.
__________________
White fast is different than black fast though. ~simpsonllp 1/2/2012

If she goes A** to mouth she is a keeper. ~Doublewide 1/5/2012

------

We are the people our parents warned us about.

--Jimmy Buffett
Chickenlounge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 07:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 408
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonDMiller View Post
We have run some checks and things have shown up fine. But folks at Cyclonefanatic are complaining of virus warnings. I have never gotten a virus warning or security warning of any kind and I am on the site quite a bit. If you ever get a warning like that could you post the warning, the site that you came here from and the browser and version you are using. Thanks
I get it all the time on windows 7, never get it at work which is XP.

I have the same Norton on both.
jesterapparel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 07:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
HN Legend
 
PJHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Apple Valley
Posts: 2,089
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

Two weeks ago I brought this issue up as I have gotten this spyware warning a lot when I get on this site:

Virus/spyware Troj/ExpJS-X has been detected


http://www.hawkeyenation.com/forum/o...ware-site.html
PJHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 07:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,613
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

Never had an issue....use Firefox now.
iahawk20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 07:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior
 
Hawkfan3318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 264
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

I had a virus warning just a few hours ago actually. I went into the thread, "Cyclown Article" and clicked on the link, which led me to CF, and that is when it popped up.

I have windows 7, internet explorer, and i use webroot internet security essentials.

I have had it happen a few times, but I don't remember where I had the other warnings from.
Hawkfan3318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 08:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 205
Re: Are users getting virus messages here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonDMiller View Post
We have run some checks and things have shown up fine. But folks at Cyclonefanatic are complaining of virus warnings. I have never gotten a virus warning or security warning of any kind and I am on the site quite a bit. If you ever get a warning like that could you post the warning, the site that you came here from and the browser and version you are using. Thanks
Ive had it quite a bit over the last week or so. I run malwarebytes and bitdefender and have not turned up a virus yet though.
hamiltoncounty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0