Minnesota Eliminates Hawkeyes from B1G Tournament

May 25, 2019

Written by Athletic Communications

OMAHA, Neb. – The University of Iowa baseball fell, 3-0, to fourth-seeded Minnesota in a Big Ten Tournament elimination game Friday night at TD Ameritrade Park. The Hawkeyes finish the season at 31-24.

“It was a tough loss, but a great game,” said Iowa head coach Rick Heller. “I’m proud of our guys – they didn’t quit and fought until the end, like they did all season.”

On the mound, sophomore lefty Cam Baumann (4-5) took the loss after throwing four innings, while allowing one earned run on three hits and five walks. Baumann struggled with command, but was able to limit the damage.

Minnesota took a 1-0 lead in the top of the third before adding two runs in the ninth inning.

Offensively, senior Chris Whelan singled in the bottom of the first and was left stranded along with junior Zeb Adreon in the first inning. Iowa left 10 runners on base for the game; Minnesota stranded 11.

Iowa had two runners on base in the fourth inning via hit-by-pitches, but again, the Hawkeyes couldn’t capitalize. The following inning in the fifth, sophomore Izaya Fullard hit into an inning-ending 4-3 double play. Minnesota starter Joshua Culliver, who allowed four hits, no runs, and struck out four, before the Gophers went to their bullpen.

Continue reading below

Related In HawkeyeNation Forums

The Hawkeyes went to freshman Duncan Davitt in the fifth, and he followed with three innings of scoreless relief, while punching out four.

Junior Grant Leonard, who pitched the final two innings, surrendered two ninth-inning runs to give Minnesota a 3-0 lead.

Continue reading below

In the bottom of the ninth, Iowa put the first two runners on via a single and a hit-by-pitch, but the next three Hawkeyes were retired to end the game. Freshman Brendan Sher nearly beat out a ground ball off the pitcher’s glove on a play that was confirmed out by replay.

Iowa’s season finale lasted three hours and 46 minutes, ending 12:49 a.m. (CT).


Continue reading below

“We didn’t get it done, but I’m happy with how these guys competed all year. They’ll go down in my memories as a team that overcame as much as any I’ve coached — through coaching changes, injuries and tons of guys in the draft last year. We had all of our goals right in our hand, but didn’t play our best baseball at the end. We’ll remember this group fondly for a long, long time.”


  • Junior Ben Norman was the only Hawkeye with a multi-hit game with a 3-for-4 day.
  • The Hawkeyes registered zero extra-base hits.
  • Iowa will say goodbye to nine student-athletes: Chris Whelan, Mitchell Boe, Tanner Wetrich, Luke Farley, Derek Lieurance, Cole McDonald, Shane Ritter, Jason Foster, and Kyle Shimp.

Trending in Forums View All >

HawkeyeNation Archives View All >

John Waggoner Working to Push Way into D-End Rotation

Rob Howe

August 17, 2019

Freshman end from Dowling sees opportunity for playing time.

Deontae Craig Joins Hawkeye Recruiting Class

Rob Howe

August 16, 2019

Indiana defensive end announces decision Friday.

Julius Brents, Riley Moss Ready for Round 2 with Hawkeyes

Rob Howe

August 16, 2019

True sophomore cornerbacks striving for consistency.

Schwartz: Desmond King’s Star Continues to Rise

David Schwartz

August 15, 2019

Former Hawkeye all-American has turned into NFL force.

Hawkeyes Feel Good About Depth at Defensive Tackle

Rob Howe

August 14, 2019

Austin Schulte, Daviyon Nixon, Noah Shannon taking advantage of opportunity.

New Hawkeye Center Tyler Linderbaum a Rare Breed

Rob Howe

August 13, 2019

Solon product establishes himself as steady presence on Iowa O-Line.

HN Pod: Open Practice Discussion

Jon Miller

August 12, 2019

Miller and Deace talk about Iowa media observations from Saturday’s open practice and more talk relative to where we think Iowa’s record will wind up.

Bigger Ten: Best B1G Players Each School

Jon Miller

August 12, 2019

Miller and Deace offer up their picks for the best Big Ten players they have seen play at each school….which covers nearly the last 40 years of football in the conference.