Luka Garza UNC Celebrate

Iowa Hawkeyes center Luka Garza (55) reacts after making a basket and drawing a foul against the North Carolina Tar Heels Tuesday, December 8, 2020 at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. (Brian Ray/

INDIANAPOLIS - University of Iowa senior Luka Garza is the recipient of the 2021 Naismith Trophy, the most prestigious individual basketball honor presented annually to college basketball’s most outstanding player. The announcement was made Saturday afternoon on CBS Sports Network by Barry Goheen, Atlanta Tipoff Club chairman.   


“Winning an award in Naismith’s name is an honor my family and I will always treasure,” Garza said. “Naismith changed my life, and so many others by creating the game that so many love. In 2015, when my dad and I watched Frank Kaminsky accept the Naismith Trophy in Indianapolis, I never thought I would be in this position six years later. I am forever thankful to the University of Iowa, Coach McCaffery, the rest of the coaching staff, my teammates, my family, and the countless other people and coaches who have helped me along the way. This is not an individual honor, but a team award and I am so proud to be able to bring this award home to Iowa City. Thank you to the Atlanta Tipoff Club for this prestigious award and thank you to Naismith for changing my life and so many others with the game of basketball.”


Iowa is one of just six institutions to have both a men’s and women’s Naismith Trophy honoree, joining Duke, LSU, Notre Dame, Texas, and Virginia. Megan Gustafson was the recipient of the 2019 Naismith Trophy following her senior season.


Garza will be presented the iconic Naismith Trophy, originally sculpted in 1982 by Atlanta’s Marty C. Dawe, on the University of Iowa campus this spring. A replica trophy will be donated by Herff Jones to the University of Iowa.


The most dominant player in men’s college basketball, Garza has been named national player of the year by all of the major organizations and publications, including the Associated Press, National Association of Basketball Coaches, United States Basketball Writers Association (Oscar Robertson Trophy), Sporting NewsBasketball Times, and The AthleticIowa’s first two-time unanimous consensus first-team All-American is also a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award, which will be announced on Tuesday.


Garza led the nationally-ranked Hawkeyes to 22 victories and a third place Big Ten finish in 2021. The Washington, D.C., native led the nation in total points (747), player efficiency rating (35.84), 30-point games (8), field goals made (281), and 20-point games (22). Garza ranked second nationally in points per game (24.1), fifth in free throw attempts (199), 10th in free throw makes (141), and 11th in double-doubles (13). His 747 points extended the single-season school record he set last season (740).


“Luka just concluded a remarkable college career and had tremendous expectations to live up to all season long. He displayed complete dominance on the court throughout the course of an incredibly challenging basketball season,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. 


The two-time Big Ten Player of the Year broke Iowa’s 32-year old scoring record held by Roy Marble on Feb. 21, 2021. He finished his Hawkeye career with 2,306 points, which ranks seventh-best in Big Ten history. In addition to ranking first in career scoring, Garza is tops at Iowa in 30-point games (13), conference scoring (1,399), field goals made (870), field goal attempts (1,594), and 40-point games (2); second in rebounds (931); fourth in double-doubles (34); fifth in blocked shots (154); sixth in free throw makes (446) and attempts (636); and 16th in 3-pointers made (120). He is the only men’s basketball player in Big Ten history to accumulate 2,250 points and 900 rebounds.


Garza was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy, comprised of leading media members from around the country, current and former head coaches, former award winners and conference commissioners, all of whom based their selections on outstanding on-court performances during the 2020-21 college basketball season. Additionally, fans had the opportunity to cast a ballot. The Naismith fan vote accounted for five percent of the overall vote. The vote was tabulated and certified by Aprio, a premier, CPA-led business advisory firm, headquartered in Atlanta.


For more information about the Naismith Awards, visit



•  Naismith Trophy

•  Lute Olson National Player of the Year Award

•  Associated Press College Basketball Player of the Year

•  Oscar Robertson Trophy

•  NABC Division I Player of the Year

•  Senior CLASS Award

•  Sporting NewsBasketball TimesThe Athletic National Player of the Year

•  Wooden Award Finalist & All-American

•  Big Ten Men’s Basketball Player of the Year

•  USBWA District VI Player of the Year

•  NABC Pete Newell Big Man of the Year

•  First Team All-America (NABC, Associated Press, Sporting News, USBWA)

•  Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Finalist

•  Big Ten All-Tournament Team honoree

•  Three-time Big Ten Player of the Week


IOWA CITY, Iowa - University of Iowa freshman Caitlin Clark has been named to the WBCA All-America Team, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced Saturday.

Clark is one of 10 student-athletes to be named a WBCA All-American, becoming the fifth Hawkeye in program history to earn the honor and the first freshman. Kachine Alexander, Samantha Logic, Megan Gustafson, and Kathleen Doyle were named WBCA All-Americans preceding Clark.

Clark averaged 26.6 points, 7.1 assists, and 5.9 rebounds per game in 30 games this season, setting the Iowa freshman record with 26.6 points per game (men’s or women’s), recording the fourth-highest points per game in single season in Iowa history (men’s or women’s), and was the 2020-21 NCAA Division I scoring leader (men’s or women’s). She is the only Division I student-athlete to record 12, 30-point games this season — the most by an NCAA Division I freshman since 2000. 


The West Des Moines, Iowa, native broke the Iowa women’s basketball record for points scored in a freshman campaign with 799 points and ranks third all-time at Iowa for single-season points behind Megan Gustafson’s junior (823) and senior (1,001) seasons. She also broke Iowa’s all-time freshman assist record with 214 on the season, surpassing former Hawkeye Kathleen Doyle, who recorded 148 assists during her freshman campaign in 2016-17. She ranks fourth all-time at Iowa for assists in a single season. 

Clark led Hawkeyes to the Sweet Sixteen after not being projected to make the NCAA field of 68 at the beginning of the season. It marked the program’s eighth Sweet Sixteen appearance, and its third in its last four NCAA Tournament appearances.

Clark led the nation in total assists (214), total points (799), points per game (26.6), field goals made (266), 3-pointers made (116), and ranked second in assists per game (7.1) and 3-pointers per game (3.87).



  • WBCA Co-Freshman of the Year (March 30) and WBCA All-American (April 3).
  • Dawn Staley Award Winner (April 2)
  • USBWA Tamika Catchings National Co-Freshman of the Year (April 2)
  • The Athletic’s Co-Freshman of the Year (March 25)
  • Named to The Athletic All-America Team (March 25)
  • WBCA All-Region Team (March 24)
  • USBWA Tamika Catchings National Freshman of the Week (Jan. 5, Feb. 17, Feb. 23, and March 2)
  • NCAA Starting Five (Dec. 9, Dec. 30, Feb. 17, March 3)
  • ESPN National Player of the Week (Dec. 14) — the first Big Ten freshman to earn the award.